• Home
  • >
  • Carroll County
  • >
  • Two of four board members of McKenzie Special School District are newcomers

Two of four board members of McKenzie Special School District are newcomers

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
TAKING THE OATH – Taking the oath of office for the McKenzie Special School District Board of Education (from left) are LaShonda Williams, George Cassidy, Bobby Young and Spiro Roditis. Photo by Shirley Nanney



Four recently elected McKenzie Special School District Board of Education members raised their right hands and repeated the oath of office administered by Director of Schools Lynn Watkins at the Sept. 6 meeting.

LaShonda Williams, Bobby Young , George Cassidy and Spiro Roditis were  elected in the Aug. 4 election. Young and Roditis are newcomers on the board. The terms are for four years.

In the elections of officers that followed, Williams was elected chairman and will preside at all meetings.

“I want the board to work together for the betterment of the school system,” said Williams.

Selected as vice chairman was Chad Brown with George Cassidy chosen as treasurer. Misty Aird was selected as the Tennessee Legislation Network member with Karen Fowler chosen as the alternate.

A budget amendment for $31,360 passed that was the allocation from the state for a Safe School Grant that will be used for the School Resource Officers’ (SRO) salaries. The amount is based on enrollment.

The second and final reading on the following amendments to the McKenzie Special School District Board of Education Policy Manual passed.

They include: Bids and Quotations, Library Materials, Employment of Retirees, Separation Practices for Non-tenured teachers, Attendance, Admission of Suspended or expelled Students, and Reporting Child Abuse. The first readings passed at the August 2 meeting.

A Collaborative Conferencing Memorandum of Understanding with McKenzie Education Association  was passed. It outlines rights of the Education Association. 

McKenzie High School overnight trips for Beta Leadership Summit to Sevierville on Sept. 21-23 and State Beta Convention in Nashville Nov. 28-30 were approved.

In the director’s report, Watkins said he has employed Christian Nunnery, Andra Herrin and Norma Parham as substitute teachers for the 2022-2023 school year.

He also mentioned that the Fall District meeting will be Sept. 13 at Paris Special School District and urged each school board member to attend.

Related Posts

The Carroll County News-Leader is a full-service, premium newspaper and news website serving Carroll County, Tennessee. We take advantage of today’s digital technology to deliver you the news that matters to you in ways that are only possible in this platform and in print.

© Copyright 2023 

newsleaderonline.com, 84 Elks Lodge Rd. Huntingdon, TN