Sarah Derryberry crowned homecoming queen at Clarksburg

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Clarksburg High School recognized this year’s homecoming royalty during special ceremonies at the school gym Thursday night, though no games were played.

Due to the boys basketball team being quarantined for COVID, all the members of the homecoming court were escorted by their fathers.

Senior Sarah Derryberry was crowned as homecoming queen.

The daughter of Terry and Kellie Derryberry, Sarah is a member of the Lady Rockets basketball team, Student Council, Beta Club, yearbook staff, and president of the FFA.

CLARKSBURG HOMECOMING COURT – This year’s Clarksburg High School Basketball Homecoming Court features (front row, from left) freshman rep. Chloe Crum, sophomore rep. Cassie Blount, junior rep. Sydney Page, Homecoming Queen Sarah Derryberry, senior rep. Jasmine Elise Bailey, junior rep. Alexandria Derryberry, and sophomore rep. Grace Bartholomew. Pictured in the back row are their father, who served as escorts, including (from left) Brian Crum, Eric Blount, Mitchell Page, Terry Derryberry, Eric Bailey, Bobby Derryberry, and Corey Bartholomew.

Other members of the homecoming court included:

•Senior rep. Jasmine Elise Bailey, daughter of Eric and Kenna Bailey.

•Junior rep. Sydney Page, daughter of Mitchell and Kristie Page.

•Junior rep. Alexandria Derryberry, daughter of Bobby and Amanda Derryberry.

•Sophomore rep. Grace Bartholomew, daughter of Corey and Brandy Bartholomew.

•Sophomore rep. Cassie Blount, daughter of Eric and Christy Blount.

•Freshman rep. Chloe Crum, daughter of Brian and Tina Crum.

• • •

FOR EMILY – During a special program Thursday night, a group of Clarksburg High School seniors and one graduate dedicated a plaque and shadow box in memory of senior Emily Petterson, who was killed in a tragic car accident back on October. Pictured are (from left) seniors Sami Roney, Makiya Abdallah, Dakota Garner, and Michael Schaffer, and 2020 graduate Krista Noble, who spoke for the group.

Before the homecoming ceremonies, a special program was held in honor and memory of senior student and Lady Rocket basketball player Emily Petterson, who was killed in tragic car accident back in October of last year.

Among those who spoke about their memories of Emily was former Clarksburg principal and girls basketball coach Porsche McClerking, who now coaches boys basketball at Huntingdon High School.

Porsche recited a poem he had written about Emily and told about some of his experiences as her coach.

“She was one of the most special people I’ve ever known,” said McClerking.

Also speaking were Director of Schools Lex Suite and Emily’s brother, Hunter Petterson.

A group of Clarksburg High School seniors and and one graduate then dedicated a plaque featuring Emily’s photo and a shadow box containing Emily’s team jerseys, which will be put on display in the gym lobby.

Krista Noble, a 2020 graduate, spoke on behalf of the group, sharing memories about Emily and telling how she continued to be dedicated to the team in spite of injuries that kept her on the bench through her junior year.

“She dedicated a lot of blood, sweat, and tears,” said Noble. “She had a heart of gold, and she was the best friend you could ask for.”

Emily was the daughter of Steven and Michelle Peterson.

• • •

MR. AND MISS CHS SPIRIT – Dakota Garner (right) and Sami Roney (left) were recognized as Mr. and Miss Clarksburg High School Spirit Thursday night.

Others recognized Thursday night included:

•Mr. and Miss Clarksburg High School Spirit: Dakota Garner and Sami Roney.

•Cheerleaders: Caitlyn Melton, Casey Wright, Sydney Page (Co-Captain), Alexandria Derryberry (Captain), Ashlyn Smith, Lily Moore, Alyssa Chace, Grayson Bennett, and Juliana Altom. The cheerleaders, who haven’t been able to cheer at games due to TSSAA COVID rules, performed a couple of sets for those in attendance.

•Lady Rockets: Maleigha Abdallah, Libby Autry, Destiny Eaton, Sam Segraves, Anna Claire Webb, Chloe Crum, Grace Bartholomew, Carly Blount, Cassie Blount, Kyleigh Scott, Makiya Abdallah, Jasmine Bailey, Sarah Derryberry, Maddie Peterson, and Sami Roney.

•Rockets: Stefan Gilbert, Dylan Pruitt, Kris Hooker, Sawyer Page, Brayden Cobb, Jakobe Clark, Caden Wood, Dakota Garner, Brandon Pendergrass, Myles Rogers, Spencer Webb, and Mikiah Wilson.

Raven Trevathan

Raven Trevathan

Administrative Assistant

Related Posts

The Carroll County News-Leader is a full-service, premium newspaper and news website serving Carroll County, Tennessee. We take advantage of today’s digital technology to deliver you the news that matters to you in ways that are only possible in this platform and in print.
Contact us: [email protected]

© Copyright 2022, 84 Elks Lodge Rd. Huntingdon, TN