HHS honors football team for great season

HHS FOOTBALL AWARD RECIPIENTS – Front from left; Landon Gordon, Braxton Montes De Oca, Luke Cooper, and Elijah Flowers. Back from left; Kaleb Pearson, Easton Byars, Gray Eubanks, Brady Warbritton, Ashton Hutcherson, C.J. Pelonero, and Austin Bryd.
MVP – Elijah Flowers was named Huntingdon QB Club MVP at the HHS football banquet.

By russellBUSH

 Huntingdon High School honored its football team Thursday and senior Elijah Flowers was named QB Club MVP for a season that saw the Mustangs advance to the Class 2-A semifinals and finished the season with an 11-3 record.

 Flowers was a running back and defensive end and for the season on offense, Flowers rushed 130 times for 907 yards and 13 TD’s. He caught 15 passes for 261 yards and five TD’s. On defense, Flowers recorded 66 total tackles, 33 solo and 33 assists. Flowers had 13 sacks and 28 tackles for loss. He was also named as the Region 7-2A Defensive MVP.

 Head Coach Eric Swenson also presented several other offensive awards: Offensive Lineman Award: Austin Byrd. Offensive Back Award: Gray Eubanks.

HHS CHEERLEADERS – Front from left; Landon Seay, Sadie Shands, Jenna Magee, Tatum Nolen, Lydia O’Bryant, and Brooklyn Hudson. Middle from left; Lincoln Dodd, Ava Williams, Adalyn Allen, and Makayla Douglas. Back from left; Kylie Tippitt, Claudia Cooper, Grace Smothers, Mandy Hodge, and Aubrie Harris.

Robbie Miller Defensive Coordinator presented the defensive awards. Defensive Back Award: Brady Warbritton. Linebacker Award: C.J. Pelonero. Defensive Lineman Award: Elijah Flowers.

 The Most Improved Award was given to Braxton Montes De Oca.

 The Paul Ward Hustler Award was presented to Landon Gordon.

 The Top Weight Lifter Award was given to Tayshawn Rivers.

Several Mustangs were also named to the Region 7-2A team and two of the Mustangs received superlative awards. Gray Eubanks was named region Offensive Player of the Year and Elijah Flowers was named as the Defensive MVP for the region. Earning first team honors were Austin Bryd, Easton Byars, Brady Warbritton, C.J. Pelonero, Ashton Hutcherson and Landon Gordon. Earning Honorable Mention for the region were Luke Cooper and Kaleb Pearson.

 Ashten Simpson the cheer coach recognized the cheerleaders and recognized the seniors, Lydia O’Bryant, Tatum Nolen, Landon Seay, Jenna Magee, Sadie Shands, and Brooklyn Hudson.

 The managers for the 2022 season were Sidney Vinson, Cayden Brewer, Carter Coleman, Eva Blakeman and Zachiryah Connelly Webb. Ball Boys were Johns Nolen, Max Kelley, and Dayton Miller.

 Swenson also recognized his coaching staff; Nathan Wallace, Jake Warbritton, Alan Eubanks, and Adam Parish.

 Swenson also recognized others that made the program work on Fridays; Geno Dill ( stats ), Derrick Hubble and Logan Boyd ( Film ) Lee Carter and Clay Nolen ( medical ).

Related Posts

The Carroll County News-Leader is a full-service, premium newspaper and news website serving Carroll County, Tennessee. We take advantage of today’s digital technology to deliver you the news that matters to you in ways that are only possible in this platform and in print.
Contact us: [email protected]

© Copyright 2024 

newsleaderonline.com, 84 Elks Lodge Rd. Huntingdon, TN